Laylen and Avonelle Richardson served as leaders of the Opdyke  4-H Clubs.  Avonelle was a member of the Belle Rive HCE.  

The Illinois Homemakers Federation District meeting was held in Mt. Vernon. 

Information on the Opdyke Unit was was organized in May 1947. 

1971-72 Opdyke Unit Officers  

1971-72 Opdyke Unit members 

Charter Members

Front - Joan Connoway, Lena Wagner, Wilemina Hawkins, Eva McCauley, Margaret Garrison, Muriel Badgr, Ruth Anderson, Myrtle Haynes

Back - Gladys Purcell, Georgia Shurtz, Wilma Hanes, Allie Rollinson, Mabel Yandell, Ileta Philp, Oleta Shaffer, Mabel Riley, Neloise Foreman, Regna Dobbs 

Oma Jones, Extension Adviser presents gold clover awards for 10 years of 4-H service to Peggy Fields,  Rosemary Whisenhunt and Roy Whisenhunt 

Council members - Devea Mestel, Pearl Thomason, Evelyn Harlan, Myrtle Beal, Pauline Dobbs and Lucille Laird

Standing - Opal Woods, Neloise Foreman, Nina Dare, Betty Hayse, Joan Barinotti, Edith Oliger, Mary Douthit, Dorothy Wood, Roba Samford 

1971-72 Extension Council meeting with the 1970-71 Council for a training session with Miss Nuttal, Assistant State Leader 

Nine of the Extension Council members for 1971-72